Forgotten Password?

Adam Peaty named 2019 LEN European Male Swimmer of the Year

Adam Peaty has been named LEN European Men's Swimmer of the Year for 2019 - the third time he has won the title. The reigning Olympic, World, European and Commonwealth champion has again been recognised for his stunning form across Men's Breaststroke over the last year, when he took his tally of world titles to eight. Peaty won the LEN Award in 2016 and 2017 but was beaten to top spot in 2018 by Russia’s Kliment Kolesnikov.

Peaty has since emphatically defended his 50m and 100m Breaststroke double in Gwangju in July, before playing a key role in the Men's 4x100m Medley Relay victory.

A memorable year was also capped by the National Centre Loughborough star's world-record breaking effort in the Worlds 100m semi-finals, when he beat his own personal best to set a time of 56.88 - making him the first person in history to go under 57 seconds for the event. 

Peaty - who received 45.8 per cent of the vote this time around - has twice won the title before, following his maiden Olympic triumph and a quartet of European crowns in 2016, and the following year, when he won two individual golds and a relay silver at the World Championships in Budapest. Hungary’s Kristóf Milák was runner-up after receiving 16.7 per cent of the votes cast by national federations and LEN officials.

Of the accolade, Peaty said: "I'm incredibly honoured to receive such a prestigious award, especially with other athletes such as [Kristóf] Milák breaking down barriers that we thought were impossible. It shows that the sport is growing in the right direction and it’s amazing to be headlining that right now. As always though it’s down to my irreplaceable team that help me get these results and I want to thank everyone for such commitment and dedication to what I do.”

Hungary's Katinka Hosszu was named 2019 European women's swimmer of the year, while Russian pair Aleksandar Bondar and Ekaterina Beliaeve took the diving titles. 

Jack Laugher - who won the men's diving award in 2016 and 2018 - was second in the voting this time around. 

British Swimming's other previous winners of LEN's annual European crowns include Tom Daley (2009, 2015 and 2017), Rebecca Adlington (2008) and Keri-Ann Payne (2011).

News to @SomersetASA
Facebook Messenger Messenger Link
Send to Whatsapp Whatsapp
Send to SMS Send SMS
Print Print
Acrobat PDF