Forgotten Password?

USA Swimming TYR Pro Swim Series 2019 Des Moines - Day 4

An 18-strong squad of British athletes is competing in the second leg of USA Swimming’s TYR Pro Swim Series at the MidAmerican Energy Aquatic Center in Des Moines, Iowa from 6-9 March 2019.

800m Freestyle


Leah Smith (Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics, 8:29.12) won the psychological battle for gold with Hali Flickinger (Athens Bulldog, 8:29.96). Flickinger had tracked Smith relentlessly within 0.25s until halfway but the next 300m proved decisive as she opened up a 1.2s lead.


Zane Grothe (Boulder City Henderson, 7:54.28) led throughout to take the title ahead of Jordan Wilimovsky (Team Santa Monica, 7:55.71).



100m Backstroke


Britain enjoyed a Women's B Final 1-2 as Chloe Golding improved from 1:03.98 to 1:02.85 thanks to a storming 31.61 final 50m which overturned a 0.26s Kathryn Greenslade (1:03.80) lead at the turn.


Kathleen Baker (Team Elite, 59.17) and Olivia Smoliga Athens Bulldog (59.35) were the only sub-60s A Final swimmers with Ali DeLoof (Team Elite, 1:00.10) securing bronze.


Nicholas Pyle (GB, 55.73) came sixth in the A Final. As in the 200m event Ryosuke Irie (Una TE, 54.03) was the fastest qualifier but he again finished with silver, 0.05s behind Michael Andrew (Race Pace Club, 53.98) who went sub 54.


Joe Litchfield (GB, 56.75) won his B Final by 0.25s ahead of Cole Pratt (Cascade).



200m Breaststroke


Once again Britain's Molly Renshaw (2:27.39) lined up with 100m winner and fastest qualifier Annie Lazor (Mission Viejo Nadadores) who claimed the double in 2:22.99 ahead of Kierra Smith (Hpc-Ontario, 2:24.41). A faster seecond 50m from Bethany Galat (Una Ags, 2:25.66) secured bronze ahead of Renshaw in fourth.


Britain's James Wilby improved from 2:15.02 to 2:10.78 for bronze in the A Final in which Will Licon (Longhorn, 2:09.90) saw his 0.67s halfway lead over Nic Fink (Athens Bulldog) eroded to 0.03s.



100m Butterfly


Having miussed a sub 60s swim by 0.02 in the prelims, Britain's Tain Bruce clocked a fifth placed 59.85 finish in the A Final won by Kelsi Dahlia (Cardinal Aquatic, 57.86). Emily Large (GB, 1:01.08) came eighth.


Charlotte Atkinson (GB, 1:00.89) finished third in the B Final with a 0.3s heat to final improvement.


Team mate Keanna MacInnes enjoyed a 1.54s improvement to win her C Final in 1:01.09, fast enough for fourth place if swum in the B Final.

Brits Cameron Brooks-Clarke (53.89) and Scott McLay (54.71) finished second and fourth in the B Final won by Ryan Coetzee (Tennessee Aquatic, 52.95).


Caeleb Dressel (Gator Swim Club, 51.51) beat Marius Kusch (Una QU) to the A Final title by 0.07s.



200m IM


Brits Abbie Wood (2:14.97) and Amy Bell (2:19.12) finished fourth and eighth in the A Final in which Melanie Margali (Saint Petersburg, 2:10.88) and Kayla Sanchez (Hpc-Ontario, 2:12.93) were the top two.


Britain's Mark Szaranek (Gator Swim Club, 2:03.03) finished fourth in the A Final won by Gunnar Bentz (Dynamo Swim Club, 2:01.45) ahead of team mate Jay Litherland (2:02.29) in second.


Joe Litchfield (GB, 2:05.43) missed out on a second place B Final finish by 0.04s.



50m Freestyle


Imogen Clark (GB, 26.06) won her C Final in which team mate Sophie Smith (26.27) finished fourth.


A Final Gold and Silver went to Natalie Hinds (Athens Bulldog, 25.26) and Margo Geer (Mission Viejo Nadadores, 25.29).


Fastest qualifier Michael Andrew (21.94) topped the podium again with Caeleb Dressel (Gator Swim Club, 22.08) finishing in second place.




View Results.

News to @SomersetASA
Facebook Messenger Messenger Link
Save to Facebook
Send to Whatsapp Whatsapp
Send to SMS Send SMS
Print Print
Acrobat PDF