Forgotten Password?

French test for Jacob Greenow and Zak Aitchison

Jacob Greenow (Bath Uni) and Zak Aitchison (Stirling Uni) are members of the Swim England 2024 squad which looks to support swimmers who have already achieved a level of performance which could lead to inclusion on British Swimming’s World Class Programme. It also aims to inspire the swimmers to achieve world-class status and see them represent England at the Commonwealth Games or Great Britain at the Olympics.

Eight members of the squad impressed in and gained experience of international competition over 7/8 July when they took part in the French Open in the outdoor Oydessy pool in Chartres.

Jacob Greenow (02:20.21) finished seventh in the Men's 200m Breaststroke 'A' Final in which Giedrius Titenis (LTU, 02:12.19) won gold. Greenow (04:25.34) also held off the fast finishing challenge of Léonardo Santos to secure fourth place in the 400m IM won by Japan's Kosuke Hagino (04:13.50).

Having missed out on a lane in the 'A' Final by 0.27s, Greenow  went on to win his 200m IM B Final in 02:04.74, finishing 2.61s ahead of James McFadzen (02:07.35) in second place. 

Zak Aitchison (00:28.24) finished fifth in the Men's 50m Breaststroke 'A' Final won by Joao Luiz Gomes Junior (Brazil, 00:26.94)

The team achieved two podium places, with Bell winning bronze in the 400m Individual Medley in 4:51.14, while Grant was also third in the 200m Butterfly A Final after clocking 2:13.70.

Bell finished fourth twice, clocking 2:32.13 in the 200m Breaststroke A Final and recording a time of 2:18.36 in the 200m Individual Medley A Final. Budd claimed a sixth place finish in the A Finals as he clocked 3:57.93 in the 400m Freestyle.

The squad achieved three fifth places with Budd clocking 16:04.03 in the 1500m Freestyle, Crane finishing in 29.69 in the 50m Backstroke A Final and Aitchison recording 28.24 in the 50m Breaststroke A Final.

Lindsay Dunn, National Talent Officer (Swimming) and Pathway Lead, said: “It was a great few days in France working with this positive and professional group of swimmers and staff. “Despite coming up against a strong field of world-class competition, which included the likes of Andrey Govorov, Charlotte Bonnet, Kosuke Hagino, Mehdi Metella and Bruno Fratus, 86 per cent of the heat swims secured a place in the A or B finals.

“What perhaps was most encouraging was their ability to identify and explain their initial process goals for their heat swims. They contributed to the analysis of their heat performances and were able to identify key areas for improvement for the finals. The swimmers seemed to enjoy ‘race day’ and were unaffected by the high-quality opposition. It was good fine tuning before the summer meets and everyone made Swim England proud.”

Ahead of the Meet, Grant Robins, Swim England’s head of talent swimming, said: “The 2024 squad aims to create resilient and robust athletes and inspire them to achieve world-class status in the future. This opportunity to swim internationally as preparation for the end of season performances will help them to identify and enhance their skills & behaviours for race day. With a small team, we hope the swimmer coach ratio will help create a positive environment for swimmers to race well and gain confidence leading into Sheffield. It’s a well-run, exciting outdoor venue that will throw up challenges for the team. I am looking forward to seeing the results.” Swim England 2024 squad competing in the French Open:

Zak Aitchison (Stirling University)
Amy Bell (City of Sheffield)
Samuel Budd (City of Sheffield)
Emily Crane (Loughborough University)
Isobel Grant (City of Sheffield)
Jacob Greenow (Bath University)
James McFazden (Loughborough University)
Alex Wray (Loughborough University)


Sean Kelly (Stockport Metro)
Marc Spackman (Royal Wolverhampton School)

View results

View medallists from Day 1 and Day 2

News to @SomersetASA
Facebook Messenger Messenger Link
Save to Facebook
Send to Whatsapp Whatsapp
Send to SMS Send SMS
Print Print
Acrobat PDF