Forgotten Password?

Somerset stars selected for European Junior Championships squad

Four Somerset based swimmers feature in the 30-strong team,which will be battling it out at the European Junior Championships this summer.

The competition, which is the most prestigious in the 2018 calendar, will take place in Helsinki, Finland from July 4 to 8.

After several excellent performances at the British Swimming Championships in Edinburgh last weekend, the selectors faced some tough choices. British Swimming’s Head of Elite Development Tim Jones said: “We are really pleased to be able to select a strong team of 30 swimmers to compete in Helsinki at the start of July. 2018 is an extremely important year for British Swimming; the second year of this Olympic cycle is one of our final opportunities to unearth some new talent ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Games.

“In amongst our team, we have been able to name some familiar and experienced junior swimmers who have already successfully begun the transition into the senior ranks. We hope to be able to identify some more hidden gems at this event that can become potent forces on the British Team for many years to come.

“With an extended period of preparation time between now the start of the meet, our focus now will be to ensure all of our team members swim season-best performances at these Championships.” The team features six newly crowned British Champions Leah Crisp (1,500m Freestyle); Jacob Peters (100m Butterfly); Freya Anderson (100m Freestyle); Tom Dean (200m and 400m IM); Lewis Burras (100m Freestyle) and Nicholas Pyle (50m Backstroke).

Dean will be defending his 200m IM European title he won in Netanya, Israel where he also picked up a silver in the longer 400m event, and where Ciara Schlosshan won a silver in the 200m butterfly. Freya Anderson and Emily Large are the reigning World Junior Champions for the 100m Freestyle and 200m Butterfly respectively.  The full squad is:

Daisy Anderson – Thanet
Freya Anderson – Ellesmere College
Rachel Anderson – Millfield School
Will Bell – City of Leicester
Tatiana Belonogoff – Guildford City
Lily Booker – City of Bristol
Lily Boseley – City of Sheffield    
Lewis Burras – Southport / Hamilton Aquatics  
Greg Butler – City of Derby    
Harry Constantine - Hatfield
Lauren Cox – City of Coventry
Leah Crisp – City of Leeds      
Tom Dean –Maidenhead
Angharad Evans – Ellesmere College        
Lewis Fraser – City of Swansea   
Archie Goodburn – Warrender Baths Club       
Jakob Goodman – Millfield School        
Nathan Hughes – Hatfield          
Charlie Hutchison – Ellesmere College
Emily Large – City of Newcastle
Keanna Macinnes – Heart of Midlothian
Jasmine McCrea - Poole
Laura McNab – Team Bath Aquae Sulis
Jacob Peters – Poole   
Nick Pyle – City of Newcastle
Charlotte Rigg – City of Birmingham
Katie Robertson – South Ayrshire
Ciara Schlosshan – City of Leeds       
Luke Turley – Hatfield    
Lexi Waller – Heart of Midlothian / Wantage

Send to Whatsapp Whatsapp
Send to SMS Send SMS
Print Print
Acrobat PDF